Sunday, June 12, 2011

Introducing Master Andrew Oliver Chase Kastendike


3:02 am: It's a......BOY. Greg was so cute. He was so excited, I think just about the baby being born, not so much that it was a boy. I was completely in awe of the baby. He was perfect! And so we have another boy! I am overjoyed that it is a boy. Not that a girl wouldn't have been nice but I love my boys!

Andrew was his only name for a few days. Then the stork ordering was to take place. Greg and I actually played rock, paper, scissors over the phone to determine naming rights for his middle name. I won but couldn't pull the trigger. Greg chose Oliver so that is what is on the stork. Then when I filled out the birth certificate I added Chase b/c that is what I wanted! So....

Baby K #3 has arrived. Master Andrew Oliver Chase Kastendike was forced to make his arrival, by me, on June 2, 2011 @ 3:02 am. He weighed 5 lbs. 10 oz. and was 18 inches long. In short, I was done and he is perfect!

Final Days of Pregnancy and the Crazy Lady






Instead of filling Andrew's arrival blog post with bitching and complaining I thought I might separate them and bitch here and make his post a little more light-hearted! So here it goes, the final days of pregnancy:

I started cleaning carpets on Saturday afternoon, May 29th. Greg and I had had a few disagreements over the past few weeks and I had just about had it. The kids were crazy, the house looked like it had been ransacked by the Tazmanian Devil and his 12 siblings, and it was dirty. The lawn looked like crap and the garden was barely going. Greg had taken so much time to deconstruct the yard in order to put down bermuda grass and it wasn't doing a thing. We had so many weeds in the garden that it started to look like a nature preserve or the very green friendly people's house down the street (AKA--they don't do CRAP to their yard except grow weeds). Money is always a fun thing to discuss when you're about 9 months pregnant! $400 for carpet cleaning, $200 for mulch, Greg wanted a new area rug for the living room (?!?!?!) are you kidding me?, not to mention baby stuff, medical bills and potentially getting a minivan. EFFF I was stressed.

So I took it upon myself to borrow Robert and Suzanne's carpet cleaner to save some money and got to work. I moved furniture and cleaned every inch of Charlie's room on Saturday night. Sunday morning I got up, cleaned Samuel's room and the hallway and then in the afternoon I did the master bedroom. Monday, I made Greg mulch. He wanted to have it delivered on Tuesday. I don't think that he grasped the concept that I was going to possibly go to the hospital on Tuesday to have a baby. He thought that I was over reacting. Anywho, both of us were exhausted and hot. I think Monday was the hottest day of the year so far. Greg had a massive hangover and thought that he would take it easy on Sunday, so that was his payback! I just cleaned and try to do as many loads of laundry as I could. And scrubbed a bathroom. Tuesday brought lots of apprehension and anxiety on my part. I cleaned the bonus room carpets, showered and headed to the docs.

In previous weeks my blood pressure had been a roller coaster ride; up a little, down a little, up a little, down a little. I never had any proteins in my urine so we thought all was well. Thursday, my pressure was up to 151/94. That was pretty high for me. Anything over 90 diastolic is no bueno. They sent me for a HELLP panel to make sure my organs were still functioning and said they would get back to me with results and they would see me on Tuesday. No results Friday, so I assumed everything was fine....HA! By Tuesday, I was spilling a +1 protein, which means that my kidney's were being stressed. Not much, but enough for me. Dr. Gantt told me that she didn't think that I HAD to have the baby that day but that she would want me back on Friday to check BP and proteins again. I was OK with this diagnosis. I took it pretty easy that afternoon, just trying to straighten up and reassemble furniture and stuff in the bonus room. I finally hooked up my computer again and started researching +1 protein or proteinuria. I was technically pre-eclamptic. All night I had bad dreams of my water breaking or these giant proteins shutting my body down, it was weird!

Wednesday I awoke at 5 am and couldn't go back to sleep. I was anxiety ridden. Why was I waiting to get sicker? My head still hurt, my bp was up, proteins are not gonna go away. Why was I going to take a risk? Well, here it is...I'm not. I called the doc. Greg thought I was crazy. He basically under-minded me but said he would support any decision I made. I heard back from the doc and they said to go to triage and get checked out, have a HELLP panel drawn, have urine read again and bp's taken regularly. Here's the thing....I was only 36 weeks and a few days, so this is called CYA by the doctors. If I were 37 they would have sent me on Tuesday. Because 36 weeks is not a full term baby. So here is the time line of things as I can remember....

10 am: Get call from Kelly @ WakeMed Specialty to go ahead and go to triage.
10 am-11:30 am: Get kids packed up, house straightened, showered, bag packed, kids off to Caroline's, clothes put away and stuff ready for guests.


11:30 am: off to the hospital.
12 pm-1 pm: arrival at the hospital. Give urine, get bp done, blood taken and info processed. Given tylenol to see if headache would go away.
1 pm-1:30 pm: Wait for results. Blood work comes back border line EVERYTHING! My liver functions are down but not terribly, my platelets are at 140, normal is 160 and bad is below 100. Kidneys are still a +1 protein, bp is sticking around 140/90. Dr. Chancellor checked my fluid level and it was a 6, 5 would be low. She eventually just said to us, "If you headache doesn't go away, that is a major symptom." HINT, HINT!
2 pm: Told docs, headache is not going away. I am admitted finally!
2:30 pm: Find out my Strep B test is positive which delays the process even more b/c now I can't have my water broken until I have had 4 hours of antibiotics. My IV line is placed and the antibiotics are started.
3 pm: Place orders for mag, pitocin and a delivery room.
4 pm: Everything is rolling. They actually gave me Zofran, so I wouldn't throw up during the initial dose of the mag sulfate. It worked. I just got SUPER hot. I felt like I was on FIRE from the inside out. It is insane what medication can do to you!
4:30 pm: Pitocin is cranking and it was uncomfortable but not awful. Thank God for the NCIS marathon that was on. Greg was reading a book and totally ignoring me :) It was great. Silent, except for the constant beeping of my bp!
6:30 pm: Broke water.
7:30 pm: Epidural administered. The mag sulfate makes me yucky. So I sat up to get the epidural and I started to sweat, I mean enough sweat that it was puddling on the floor. I yelled at Greg who was sitting in the chair reading a book to get his ass up and start fanning me. Then the vomiting started. Here is the TMI: SKIP THIS PART if you don't want to know me THAT personally.....that's when the amniotic fluid started shooting b/c I was vomiting so hard. All I could think of to say when it hit the floor was, "That's not vomit!" It was excited to tell them that, but then I realized that it wasn't any better then vomit, and truth be told it probably would have been better if it was vomit. I got both Greg and the nurse. I am sorry. Renee, my nurse, really had a tough four hours with me. I apologize. But when she left, I felt better.
8:30 pm: Started to feel better and could relax a little.
9 pm-12 am: Constant checking. I wasn't dilated too terribly, only 5 cm, so they decided to pull the magnesium sulfate. My BP was staying relatively stagnant and the mag seemed to be fighting the pitocin, so I went off!
12 am-2:45 am: Constant checking and restlessness. Greg was getting a smidge tired. Thank God there was and NCIS marathon on USA! Dilated fairly quickly after that!
2:45 am: My FANTASTIC nurse Jazmine checked me and I seemed to be pretty close to fully dilated. Then she realized that the baby was sunny-side up. Dr. Gantt said that she would check back with me in about a half an hour to see how the baby was doing. They wanted to be sure to monitor him/her carefully. Greg finally went for coffee. Jazmine rolled me onto my side and directed me to pull my top leg/knee up towards my chest and that would help. She stood at the monitor/computer and just watched and kept talking. She could see my contractions and knew that it was all about to go down.
2:56 am: Not sure if this is truly the time that it happened but it was a good guess...I felt lots of pain and pressure. I knew he was moving. All of a sudden I thought he was falling out. I suggested, firmly, to Jazmine that she call Dr. Gantt and find my husband, who went on a 30 mile trek to find coffee. I swear I thought the baby was gonna shoot out.
2:58 am: Greg walks in the door. Jazmine is preparing the table, just as calm as can be...I WAS FREAKING OUT! I was panicked that Dr. Gantt was not going to make it back into the room. But she strolled in, got her gown on and told me to push. I pushed through two major contractions and on the third contraction the baby was out!

Saturday, May 21, 2011

Hello Middle Age

I NEVER ever thought that I would be driving a minivan much less wanting a minivan. But here I find myself on a hot Saturday night shopping for minivans online. I am pumped. I can't wait to push a button and the doors open for me and/or the trunk so I can load my plethora of children and Wal-Mart groceries inside without a HUGE hassle. Ahhhh. Such is the life of a middle aged mom. WHOOOOO-HOOOOOOO!

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Tease

Apparently I am a tease :) Thank you Cathy for bringing my SLACKERNESS to my attention...

Updates this week:

I am gonna stop bitching, or at least try. I have had some SERIOUS meltdowns; on my own, with my children and my husband. I certainly feel bad after my head literally spins around and green vomit shoots out of my mouth along with a stream of either jibberish or curse words. I feel like a terrible mom, wife and person in general. I could blame it on hormones, since I'm knocked up and all, or being the mom of 2 VERY rambunctious boys under the age of 4 AND being knocked up at the same time but truly I just need to tighten up and suck it up. My friend Ana had a great blog post recently about another blog she read that the woman seemed to be super mom and have it all and was patient with her kids and did craft projects, the whole nine but then she discovered that the blog was really kind of a sham. The woman only let you see what she wanted to see. I on the other hand usually put out a bunch of stuff no one wants to see or hear :) But at least it makes me feel better! But really I have it pretty great!

Baby K is nearing his/her arrival. I am seeing the doctor weekly on account of my blood pressure being all over the map. I can certainly tell when I am having an off day. I am truly trying to get as much rest as I can. I will also stop bitching that I am fat or huge. I saw a girl at church this week that looks like she has an extra large beach ball inside her. I am tiny compared to her...I mean she is all belly but holy cow. I am 34 weeks and the docs are hoping that I can hang on until 36. I am hoping that too. I know how each day, at this point, means a little more weight on him/her and hopefully a little less of a chance of a NICU stay.

Greg left me. Only for a weekend though. He went to Atlanta to play in the annual V Brown Scramble Golf Tournament. This year his team did NOT reclaim the championship but I still love him. I'm glad that he got out of the house and enjoyed himself. He definitely deserves it. So since I am supposed to be taking it easy....Andrea came to visit with the girls. It was probably the most wonderful thing that has happened in a long time. It was well over due and really renewed my spirit. I can't believe that my little Madelyn is registered for kindergarten and that Melanie is talking up a storm. I feel like Maddy should just be barely 2! Time sure does fly.

For Greg's birthday weekend everyone came to visit. I kinda gave Greg a hard time b/c it had not been a good week as far as my bp was concerned and I was kinda worried about having everyone in for the weekend. BUT to my surprise my two girlfriends and my sis-in-law ended up throwing me a surprise diaper shower! I finally made it! Not only was the shower a surprise but my mom and sarah were there and Andrea to boot! It was truly fantastic! I was totally blown away--I had no idea. And of course the first thing out of my mouth was..."If I would have known people were gonna be here I would have brushed my teeth!" Classy. We received over 600 diapers. Wow that is a lot of poop!


Had some maternity pics taken by a friend at church. Lauren Manfreda Photography is the name of her business and she is AWESOME! Not sure if they are on her website or not but they are on her business FB page...not sure if you can get there or not but it is worth the post! Here are just a few that she took.
That same day, Sam had an early Mother's Day Breakfast at school so it was a good cover for me actually taking a shower, blow drying my hair and applying make-up. It was also teacher appreciation week so I had a cover for the time MIA without Charlie!


Serious PWT--I totally stripped the kids down to their diapers and let them run through the sprinkler...in the front yard. Couldn't believe how much fun they had...who needs to go to the pool? Wish you could see Charlie's face in this one a little better...it is priceless!


As we speak the kids are running amok in the front yard....off to save myself from CPS.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Book Sling

So as promised, like a million years ago, here are pictures of the book sling. I sewed one and I LOVE it! Don't know if I just like it because I made it, because some of Sam's books still end up on the bed or if it is actually functional, and it gives me a place to hang my glasses when I am snuggling with Sam!


Here is the link with the instructions that were in Family Fun, a link with the instructions that I used (from Penny Carnival) and then two other links with, I hope, a future project...book/reading nook!

Family Fun Book Sling (No-Sew)
Penny Carnival

Reading Nook 1
Reading Nook 2

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

No Time, No Time

Excuses, excuses. Every time I look at this posting page I am overwhelmed with where to start and a little bit, well actually a lot, of sadness. I really enjoy blogging and keeping a story or record, if you will, of my life and more importantly what is going on with the kiddos. I have failed. And I don't like to fail.

Truth be told these last 6 months have been pretty tumultuous. Multiple parts stress, chaos, sickness, depression, being overwhelmed, sarcastic and tired. Also excited and happy but mostly the other.


Not that a third baby wasn't potentially in the works but I thought maybe a little further down the road. I remember how thin I was worn when Sam was Charlie's age and I was pregnant with him. I HATED it. Now double that. I was twice as sick, twice as stressed and more than twice depressed/overwhelmed about being pregnant. I know now that the baby is such a blessing...still stressful, but a blessing.

I guess part of the reason for not blogging would be the anger that I felt about being pregnant and sick and how sad I was. I was and am ashamed to feel that way. I have so many friends who have struggled to get pregnant and here I am fertile myrtle and I am pissed. We can barely function with 2 boys much less a third, TBD, baby. But such is life. This blog was meant to document our life, good and bad. Not just the sun shiny part.

I think my last blog post was in September at some point....So here ya go...

We found out we were pregnant on Halloween. All of our pregnancies have been determined on a holiday! Sam was President's Day, Charlie was Christmas and #3 Halloween. It was exciting at first. When you see those lines you get a little rush. Greg was PUMPED. He really wanted a third. I was excited but apprehensive.

I was interrupted while writing, now it is 7 pm and I am tired and frankly just too irritated and pissed off to write. Kids were crazy today, so maybe tomorrow morning I can find some peace in which to continue this SAGA.

Monday, October 4, 2010

Beach Round 2













Ahh, the beach. Now that it is rounding November, I guess I'll take ya'll back to July. We were very fortunate to have been offered a great beach place for a few days by Eli's daddio. So on a Sunday night after the offer was made we so graciously (and furiously) packed two children, ourselves, all of Greg's work stuff and all of our beach crap into the car to head out the next day.

Greg had a few claims that needed to be handled kind of on the way....So, off we go. The first claim went fine. It took a little longer then expected by nothing crazy. Then the second claim was kind of disasterous. We got off on the wrong exit, which then we had to drive 16 miles in the wrong direction b/c there were no other exits! HA! Then Sam needed to get out of the car. Thank God the woman whose house it was actually babysat kids and had a small gathering of children Sam's age penned up in her backyard! So off he went!

So our beach trip that should take just around 3 hours ended up taking 7+ hours. Good thing we had a book on tape! The house was PERFECT. It was certainly kid friendly and not so new you felt like you couldn't touch anything, but not so old that you felt gross by touching anything! Again, it was perfect. It felt like home! The kids acclimated well and had a blast. Greg worked in the early mornings so he could enjoy the day with the fam. By the time we were fed, dressed and packed he was ready to go.

So off to the beach we went...